Texans DE J.J. Watt Named AFC Defensive Player of the Week

Kevin Cooper (832) 667-2035
Amy Palcic (832) 667-2220
Brett Maikowski (832) 667-2037
Omar Majzoub (832) 667-2241
Ellie Pardee (832) 667-2085
Ryan Cantrell (832) 667-2282
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Texans DE J.J. Watt Named AFC Defensive Player of the Week
HOUSTON – The NFL named Houston Texans DE J.J. Watt the AFC Defensive Player of the Week following his performance against the New York Jets on Sunday. Watt finished the game with a team-high eight solo tackles, including five for loss, 2.0 sacks and five quarterback hits in Houston’s 24-17 victory. Watt currently leads the NFL in sacks (11.5), tackles for loss (21) and quarterback hits (33) this season.
Watt has the second-most career sacks in a player’s first five seasons in NFL history with 68.5 since 2011. This is his fourth straight season with 10.0-or-more sacks, which is the longest active streak in the NFL. Watt owns a current four-game sack streak dating back to Week 7, which is tied for the longest active streak in the NFL and tied for the sixth-longest in Texans history. With a sack in his next game, Watt would post his fifth career five-game sack streak.
Sunday was Watt’s fourth multi-sack game (1.5 or more) this season, which leads the NFL, and 21st of his career. Watt also has an NFL-best 192 quarterback hits and 124 tackles for loss since entering the NFL in 2011. This is also his fourth straight season with 30-or-more quarterback hits (2012-15) and his last four seasons are currently the top four single-season quarterback hit totals since 2006.  
This is the fifth Player of the Week award for Watt in his career, with the last one coming in Week 11 in 2014, and the 34th time a Houston Texan has been named Player of the Week in franchise history. 
List of Texans AFC Player of the Week Award Winners:
Player                         Award                          Week                Year
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     11                     2015
DeAndre Hopkins        Offensive                      6                      2015
Randy Bullock             Special Teams              16                     2014
Ryan Fitzpatrick           Offensive                      13                     2014
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     11                     2014
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     4                      2014
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     15                     2012
Matt Schaub                Offensive                      11                     2012
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     3                      2012
Arian Foster                 Offensive                      7                      2011
Arian Foster                 Offensive                      4                      2011
Glover Quin                 Defensive                     12                     2010
Matt Schaub                Offensive                      6                      2010
Andre Johnson            Offensive                      2                      2010
Arian Foster                 Offensive                      1                      2010
Brian Cushing              Defensive                     8                      2009
Brian Cushing              Defensive                     6                      2009
Jacoby Jones              Special Teams              4                      2009
Matt Schaub                Offensive                      2                      2009
Matt Schaub                Offensive                      14                     2008
Steve Slaton                Offensive                      13                     2008
Jacoby Jones              Special Teams              8                      2008
Jacoby Jones              Special Teams              6                      2008
André Davis                Special Teams              14                     2007
Kris Brown                   Special Teams              5                      2007
Mario Williams             Defensive                     1                      2007
Kris Brown                   Special Teams              16                     2006
DeMeco Ryans            Defensive                     13                     2006
Andre Johnson            Offensive                      4                      2006
Jerome Mathis             Special Teams              8                      2005
Kris Brown                   Special Teams              3                      2004
Chad Stanley               Special Teams              9                      2003
Avion Black                 Special Teams              15                     2002
Aaron Glenn                Defensive                     14                     2002
Texans media web site: http://media.houstontexans.com
Texans PR on Twitter: @TexansPR 
Houston Texans on Twitter: @HoustonTexans