Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets Bookmark and Share
December 21, 2016


HOUSTON - The Houston Texans have selected T Duane Brown as the 2016 Ed Block Courage Award winner. Recipients are selected by a vote of their teammates to recognize extra efforts both on and off the field and their ability to overcome great adversity.


Brown tore his quadriceps tendon in last year's regular-season finale against the Jacksonville Jaguars and was forced to undergo surgery to repair the injury in early January 2016. The nine-year NFL veteran rehabbed the surgically repaired leg for nearly nine months before returning to the field this season against the Minnesota Vikings in Week 5.


Brown, a three-time Pro Bowler, has been a dominant player on the left side of the line for the Texans since his return. The former first-round pick has helped the Texans rush for over 100 yards in eight of the last nine games. Brown also hasn’t allowed a sack this season and has been called for holding just one time. In his entire career, Brown has been called for holding just seven times in 130 total starts. Houston has had a 1,000-yard rusher in six-of-nine seasons with Brown on the team as Lamar Miller became the third different running back to do it in 2016.


“Duane had to endure a rigorous rehab to overcome such a significant injury, but he remained consistent and committed through the highs and lows of the process,” said Director of Sports Medicine/Head Athletic Trainer Geoff Kaplan. “Through his hard work, determination, perseverance and incredible work ethic, Duane has returned to his dominant form and continues to be the leader of the Texans offensive line.”


The Ed Block Courage Award honors NFL players who exemplify commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Brown joins past Texans winners DE Jadeveon Clowney (2015), G David Quessenberry (2014), ILB Brian Cushing (2013), QB Matt Schaub (2012), LB DeMeco Ryans (2011), TE Joel Dreessen (2010), LB Zac Diles (2009), WR Harry Williams (2008), DE Anthony Weaver (2007), LB Kailee Wong (2006), WR Jabar Gaffney (2005), DT Seth Payne (2004), CB Aaron Glenn (2003) and CB Jason Bell (2002). He will be recognized at the 39th annual Ed Block Courage Awards in March.


Since 1984, the Ed Block Courage Award annually honors one player from every NFL team who exemplifies commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The Ed Block Courage Award has become one of the most prestigious awards a player can receive because no other national football award is chosen solely by a vote of his peers. Winners travel to Baltimore to receive their trophy at a gala in their honor and to visit the Ed Block Courage House. The Courage House is a facility that provides support and quality care for abused children and their families in the community. Block was the longtime head athletic trainer for the old Baltimore Colts, who in addition to being a pioneer in athletic training, was passionate about causes helping children.



2016       T Duane Brown

2015       DE Jadeveon Clowney

2014       G David Quessenberry

2013       ILB Brian Cushing

2012       QB Matt Schaub

2011       ILB DeMeco Ryans

2010       TE Joel Dreessen

2009       LB Zac Diles

2008       WR Harry Williams

2007       DE Anthony Weaver

2006       LB Kailee Wong

2005       WR Jabar Gaffney

2004       DT Seth Payne

2003       CB Aaron Glenn

2002       CB Jason Bell


< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.