Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets Bookmark and Share
December 20, 2016


HOUSTON – Houston Texans DE Jadeveon Clowney was named to the 2017 Pro Bowl, the NFL announced today. The game will be played at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Fla. on January 29, 2017. This marks the 13th consecutive season that the Texans have had at least one player elected to the Pro Bowl.
“I’m excited to be selected to my first Pro Bowl,” said Clowney. “I want to thank Coach O’Brien, Coach Crennel, Coach Vrabel and Coach Weaver for believing in me and pushing me to get to his point. It’s an honor to be recognized with the best players from around the NFL. I’m going to continue to work to help my team win games.”
In his third season with the Texans, Clowney will be making his first trip to the Pro Bowl. He has set single-season career highs in tackles (49), sacks (5.0), tackles for loss (15) and quarterback hits (16), while starting 13 games this year. Clowney leads the team and ranks tied for fourth in the NFL in tackles for loss and is one of only four players in the league with multiple games with three-or-more tackles for loss.
Clowney is part of a defense that ranks first in the NFL in total net yards (306.5) and first downs (17.2) allowed per game, second in net passing yards allowed per game (203.5) and sixth in opponent third down percentage (36.3). Since Week 8, the Texans have only given up 70.6 net rushing yards per contest, which also leads the league.
T Duane Brown, WR DeAndre Hopkins, RB Lamar Miller and OLB Whitney Mercilus were named as alternates.
                Player Pos Season Career Selections
                Jadeveon Clowney DE 2016 First
                DeAndre Hopkins WR 2015 First
                J.J. Watt DE 2015 Fourth
                Arian Foster RB 2014 Fourth
                J.J. Watt* RB 2014 Third
                Andre Johnson WR 2013 Seventh
                J.J. Watt DE 2013 Second
                Duane Brown T 2012 First
                Arian Foster RB 2012 Third
                Andre Johnson WR 2012 Sixth
                Johnathan Joseph CB 2012 Second
                Chris Myers C 2012 Second
                Matt Schaub QB 2012 Second
                Wade Smith G 2012 First
                J.J. Watt DE 2012 First
                Arian Foster RB 2011 Second
                Johnathan Joseph CB 2011 First
                Chris Myers C 2011 First
                Antonio Smith DE 2011 First
                Arian Foster RB 2010 First
                Andre Johnson WR 2010 Fifth
                Vonta Leach FB 2010 First
                Matt Schaub # QB 2009 First
                Brian Cushing LB 2009 First
                Andre Johnson WR 2009 Fourth
                DeMeco Ryans LB 2009 Second
                Mario Williams DE 2009 Second
                Owen Daniels TE 2008 First
                Andre Johnson       WR 2008     Third
                Mario Williams       DE 2008 First
                DeMeco Ryans       LB 2007 First
                Andre Johnson       WR 2006 Second
                Jerome Mathis   WR 2005 First
                Andre Johnson           WR 2004 First
                Aaron Glenn            CB 2002 Third
                Gary Walker            DE 2002 Second
# denotes Pro Bowl MVP
* denotes Pro Bowl Team Captain
< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.