On Now
Coming Up
  • Sat., Aug. 19, 2017 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM CDT Jr Cheerleaders pres. by Texas Children's Hospital

    Registration is Now Open for Houston Texans Jr. Cheerleaders!

    Has your little cheerleader always wanted to perform in front of thousands?
    Now's their chance!   

    Houston Texans Jr. Cheerleaders presented by Texas Children's Hospital

    Texans vs New England Patriots
    During pregame ceremonies
    Saturday, August 19, 2017
    7:00 PM Kickoff

    Mandatory Rehearsal:
    Sunday, August 13, 2017
    1:00 PM - 2:00 PM Check-in
    2:00 PM - 4:30 PM Rehearsal
    Houston Methodist Training Center

    Registration is $199 per child and includes a Houston Texans Jr. Cheerleaders uniform, poms, Texans hair bow, post-performance dinner, online instructional video, souvenir performance DVD, and MUCH MORE!

    Register - http://www.houstontexans.com/cheerleaders/junior-cheer.html

  • Tue., Aug. 29, 2017 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM CDT Houston Texans Team Luncheon pres. by Amegy Bank of Texas

    The Houston Texans Team Luncheon is set for Tuesday, August 329 from noon – 2pm with the entire Texans team.  Hear from Head Coach Bill O’Brien and top Texans players as they prepare for the 2017 season!

    Table/Ticket Info - http://www.houstontexans.com/community/team-luncheon.html


Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets Bookmark and Share
November 02, 2016


HOUSTON – The NFL named Houston Texans P Shane Lechler the AFC Special Teams Player of the Week following his performance in the team’s 20-13 victory over the Detroit Lions on Sunday.


Lechler punted four times for 203 yards, averaging 50.8 gross yards per punt. Detroit’s average starting field position following his four punts was on their own 13-yard line. Lechler averaged 49.5 net yards per punt, which led the NFL in Week 8 (min. 4 punts).


He also pinned 3-of-4 punts inside the 20-yard line, which tied for the second-highest total in the league that week. Playing in his 262nd career game, Lechler tied Ray Brown for the 27th-most games played in NFL history.


This is the first time Lechler has earned Player of the Week honors as a Texan and the 38th time a Houston Texan has been named Player of the Week in franchise history. It is also the 13th time Houston has won the AFC Special Teams Player of the Week award in team history and second this season (WR Will Fuller V, Week 4).



Player                               Award                                 Week                   Year

Shane Lechler                 Special Teams                   8                            2016

Will Fuller V                     Special Teams                   4                            2016

Whitney Mercilus           Defensive                           1                            2016

J.J. Watt                            Defensive                           17                          2015

J.J. Watt                            Defensive                           11                          2015

DeAndre Hopkins           Offensive                            6                            2015

Randy Bullock                 Special Teams                   16                          2014

Ryan Fitzpatrick              Offensive                            13                          2014

J.J. Watt                            Defensive                           11                          2014

J.J. Watt                            Defensive                           4                            2014

J.J. Watt                            Defensive                           15                          2012

Matt Schaub                    Offensive                            11                          2012

J.J. Watt                            Defensive                           3                            2012

Arian Foster                     Offensive                            7                            2011

Arian Foster                     Offensive                            4                            2011

Glover Quin                     Defensive                           12                          2010

Matt Schaub                    Offensive                            6                            2010

Andre Johnson                Offensive                            2                            2010

Arian Foster                     Offensive                            1                            2010

Brian Cushing                  Defensive                           8                            2009

Brian Cushing                  Defensive                           6                            2009

Jacoby Jones                   Special Teams                   4                            2009

Matt Schaub                    Offensive                            2                            2009

Matt Schaub                    Offensive                            14                          2008

Steve Slaton                    Offensive                           13                          2008

Jacoby Jones                   Special Teams                   8                            2008

Jacoby Jones                   Special Teams                   6                            2008

André Davis                     Special Teams                   14                          2007

Kris Brown                       Special Teams                   5                            2007

Mario Williams               Defensive                           1                            2007

Kris Brown                       Special Teams                   16                          2006

DeMeco Ryans                Defensive                           13                          2006

Andre Johnson                Offensive                            4                            2006

Jerome Mathis                Special Teams                   8                            2005

Kris Brown                       Special Teams                   3                            2004

Chad Stanley                   Special Teams                   9                            2003

Avion Black                      Special Teams                   15                          2002

Aaron Glenn                    Defensive                           14                          2002



< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.