Texans DE J.J. Watt Named A...

Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets Bookmark and Share
January 06, 2016

Texans DE J.J. Watt Named AFC Defensive Player of the Week

HOUSTON – The NFL named Houston Texans DE J.J. Watt the AFC Defensive Player of the Week following his performance against the Jacksonville Jaguars on Sunday. Watt led the team with eight tackles (five solo), to go along with a single-game season-high 3.0 sacks, three tackles for loss, four quarterback hits, two passes defensed, one forced fumble and one fumble recovery in the Texans’ 30-6 victory.
It was Watt’s 21st career multi-sack game, the second-most of any player in the NFL over his first five seasons in league history, and his fifth career game with 3.0-or-more sacks. Watt’s 3.0 sacks on Sunday gave him an NFL-best 17.5 for the year, which marks his third career 15.0-sack season, the second-most in the NFL since 1982. Reggie White is the only other player to notch three 15.0-sack seasons in his first five years in the league.
Watt finished the 2015 season leading the NFL in sacks (17.5), tackles for loss (29) and quarterback hits (50). He leads the NFL in each of those categories since entering the league in 2011. The two-time Defensive Player of the Year also recorded 76 tackles (57 solo), eight passes defensed, three forced fumbles and one fumble recovery on the way to his third AFC South Division title in the last five years. His sack total ranks as the third-highest single-season mark in franchise history behind his 20.5 sacks in 2012 and 2014.
Watt has the second-most career sacks in a player’s first five seasons in NFL history and this was his fourth straight season with 10.0-or-more sacks, which is the longest active streak in the NFL. This is also his second straight season with 50-or-more quarterback hits and fourth straight (2012-15) with 40-or-more. His last four seasons are currently the top four single-season quarterback hit totals since 2006. 
Houston’s defense finished third in the NFL in yards allowed per game (310.2), third in pass yards allowed per game (210.4), fifth in sacks (franchise-record 45.0), tied for third in passes defensed (90), and tied for seventh in points allowed per game (19.6). Houston finished the season going 7-2 in their last nine games and allowed an-NFL best 12.7 points and 263.0 net yards per game in that span.
This is the sixth Player of the Week award for Watt in his career, with the last one coming in Week 11 earlier this season, and the 35th time a Houston Texan has been named Player of the Week in franchise history.

List of Texans AFC Player of the Week Award Winners:
Player                         Award                          Week                Year
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     17                     2015
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     11                     2015
DeAndre Hopkins        Offensive                      6                      2015
Randy Bullock             Special Teams              16                     2014
Ryan Fitzpatrick           Offensive                      13                     2014
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     11                     2014
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     4                      2014
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     15                     2012
Matt Schaub                Offensive                      11                     2012
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     3                      2012
Arian Foster                 Offensive                      7                      2011
Arian Foster                 Offensive                      4                      2011
Glover Quin                 Defensive                     12                     2010
Matt Schaub                Offensive                      6                      2010
Andre Johnson            Offensive                      2                      2010
Arian Foster                 Offensive                      1                      2010
Brian Cushing              Defensive                     8                      2009
Brian Cushing              Defensive                     6                      2009
Jacoby Jones              Special Teams              4                      2009
Matt Schaub                Offensive                      2                      2009
Matt Schaub                Offensive                      14                     2008
Steve Slaton                Offensive                      13                     2008
Jacoby Jones              Special Teams              8                      2008
Jacoby Jones              Special Teams              6                      2008
André Davis                Special Teams              14                     2007
Kris Brown                   Special Teams              5                      2007
Mario Williams             Defensive                     1                      2007
Kris Brown                   Special Teams              16                     2006
DeMeco Ryans            Defensive                     13                     2006
Andre Johnson            Offensive                      4                      2006
Jerome Mathis             Special Teams              8                      2005
Kris Brown                   Special Teams              3                      2004
Chad Stanley               Special Teams              9                      2003
Avion Black                 Special Teams              15                     2002
Aaron Glenn                Defensive                     14                     2002

< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.