Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets Bookmark and Share
December 18, 2015


Kevin Cooper (832) 667-2035
Amy Palcic (832) 667-2220
Brett Maikowski (832) 667-2037
Omar Majzoub (832) 667-2241
Ellie Pardee (832) 667-2085
Ryan Cantrell (832) 667-2282
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                         Friday, December 18, 2015
HOUSTON - The Houston Texans have selected OLB Jadeveon Clowney as the 2015 Ed Block Courage Award winner. Recipients are selected by a vote of their teammates to recognize extra efforts both on and off the field and their ability to overcome great adversity.
Clowney dealt with numerous injuries during his rookie year, including a sports hernia, concussion and a major knee injury that caused him to undergo microfracture surgery. Clowney, the No. 1 overall pick in the 2014 NFL Draft, was injured in his first NFL regular season game against the Washington Redskins. He was placed on Injured Reserve on Dec 10, 2014 after recording just seven tackles in four games.
However, Clowney has been able to bounce back with a strong sophomore season in 2015. After a strenuous offseason filled with numerous workouts and rehab sessions, Clowney is starting to play his best football. The 22-year-old has recorded 35 tackles (25 solo), 4.5 sacks, four passes defensed, seven quarterback hits, eight tackles for loss, and one forced fumble in 11 games this season. In his most recent game against the New England Patriots, Clowney put together the first multi-sack game of his NFL career, to go along with seven tackles.
“JD overcame an extremely significant injury early in his career. After his surgery from (Team Medical Director & Head Team Orthopedist) Dr. Walter Lowe, he was able to battle back to become a starter and productive player for the Texans,” said Director of Sports Medicine/Head Athletic Trainer Geoff Kaplan. “Throughout his extensive and strenuous rehabilitation process, Jadeveon never doubted he had the ability to come back strong.”
The Ed Block Courage Award honors NFL players who exemplify commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Clowney joins past Texans winners G David Quessenberry (2014), ILB Brian Cushing (2013), QB Matt Schaub (2012), LB DeMeco Ryans (2011), TE Joel Dreessen (2010), LB Zac Diles (2009), WR Harry Williams (2008), DE Anthony Weaver (2007), LB Kailee Wong (2006), WR Jabar Gaffney (2005), DT Seth Payne (2004), CB Aaron Glenn (2003) and CB Jason Bell (2002). He will be recognized at the 38th annual Ed Block Courage Awards on March 10-12, 2016 in Baltimore, Md. 
Since 1984, the Ed Block Courage Award annually honors one player from every NFL team who exemplifies commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. The Ed Block Courage Award has become one of the most prestigious awards a player can receive because no other national football award is chosen solely by a vote of his peers. Winners travel to Baltimore to receive their trophy at a gala in their honor and to visit the Ed Block Courage House. The Courage House is a facility that provides support and quality care for abused children and their families in the community. Block was the longtime head athletic trainer for the old Baltimore Colts, who in addition to being a pioneer in athletic training, was passionate about causes helping children.
Houston's Ed Block Courage Award winners:
2015    OLB Jadeveon Clowney
2014    G David Quessenberry
2013    ILB Brian Cushing
2012    QB Matt Schaub
2011    ILB DeMeco Ryans
2010    TE Joel Dreessen
2009    LB Zac Diles
2008    WR Harry Williams
2007    DE Anthony Weaver
2006    LB Kailee Wong
2005   WR Jabar Gaffney
2004   DT Seth Payne
2003   CB Aaron Glenn
2002   CB Jason Bell
Texans media web site: http://media.houstontexans.com
Texans PR on Twitter: @TexansPR 
Houston Texans on Twitter: @HoustonTexans
< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.