On Now
Coming Up
  • Tue., Oct. 24, 2017 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM CDT Player Signing at XFINITY

    Meet Texans tight end Ryan Griffin for autographs (3-4 PM) at XFINITY located at 517 S. Mason Road, Katy TX 77450.

    Celebrity subject to change.

  • Tue., Oct. 24, 2017 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM CDT Conn's Trick or Texans

    Meet Texans punter Shane Lechler at Conn's Trick or Texans event, where autographs will be available 5-6 PM. Located at Conn's at 12730 Fountain Lake Circle, Stafford TX 77477.

    Celebrities subject to change.

  • Tue., Oct. 24, 2017 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM CDT Player Signing at FCCU

    Meet Texans cornerback Kareen Jackson (6-7 PM) at the FCCU located at 9100 Westview, Houston TX 77055.

    Celebrity subject to change.

  • Tue., Oct. 24, 2017 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM CDT Players Show Live from Fuddruckers

    Join Texans DE Christian Covington from 6-7 PM at Fuddruckers (3929 Southwest Fwy, 77027) for a live Texans Radio on SportsRadio 610 broadcast with Voice of the Texans, Marc Vandermeer, and special guests!

    Plaus, all Houston area Fuddruckers will feature a Buy One Texans Burger Combo, Get One Free Texans Burger and $15 beer buckets every Tuesday during the season for fans showing up in the Texans gear, whether the Texans win or lose their previous game, so don't miss out!

    Then stay for Texans All Access 7-8 PM. Lots of Texans prizes & giveaways!

    Celebrity subject to change.

  • Mon., Oct. 30, 2017 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM CDT TORO's Kids Club Halloween Party

    Join TORO, Texans players, Cheerleaders, and TORO's Kids Club members for this year's superhero-themed Halloween Party!

    This event is for TORO's Kids Club members and their parents, but you can join TORO's Kids Club for free!

    RSVP: http://www.houstontexans.com/kids/kidsclub/cookiesandrookies.html

Ryan Fitzpatrick Named AFC ...

Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets Bookmark and Share
December 03, 2014

Ryan Fitzpatrick Named AFC Offensive Player of the Week

HOUSTON – The NFL named Texans quarterback Ryan Fitzpatrick the AFC Offensive Player of the Week following his career-best and franchise-record six touchdown passes in Houston’s 45-21 win over Tennessee on Sunday.
Fitzpatrick led the Houston offense to a franchise-record 45 points and helped the team convert a club-record 11 third downs. The 10-year veteran completed 24-of-33 passes for 358 yards, six touchdowns and no interceptions with a career-high passer rating of 147.5. Fitzpatrick is one of 12 quarterbacks in NFL history to throw at least six touchdowns against zero interceptions.
Fitzpatrick teamed up with second-year wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins for nine completions, 238 yards receiving and two touchdowns. The 238 yards receiving is the highest single-game receiving total this season. Fitzpatrick found five different receivers for touchdowns: Hopkins (2), Arian Foster, Ryan Griffin, Andre Johnson and J.J. Watt.
Fitzpatrick started hot and led Houston to a 24-0 halftime lead. He completed 14 of 18 passes for 179 yards and three touchdowns and had a passer rating of 147.7 in the first half. It was the third time in his career that he had three touchdown passes in the first half.
Fitzpatrick became the eighth quarterback in NFL history and the only active signal-caller with at least four touchdowns in a game for three different NFL franchises.
The 358 yards represented the fourth highest total in Fitzpatrick’s career. The Harvard graduate became the fifth player in team history to throw for 300 yards in a game and became the 12th quarterback in NFL history to throw for 300-plus yards in a game for four different NFL franchises.
Fitzpatrick became the Texans’ first AFC Offensive Player of the Week since Week 11 of 2012 and the 10th in franchise history. Fitzpatrick’s award represents Houston’s third conference player of the week honor this season (J.J. Watt- AFC Defensive Player of the Week in Weeks 4 and 11).
List of Texans AFC Player of the Week Award Winners:
Player                         Award                          Week                Year
Ryan Fitzpatrick          Offensive                      13                     2014
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     11                     2014
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     4                      2014
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     15                     2012
Matt Schaub                Offensive                      11                     2012
J.J. Watt                     Defensive                     3                      2012
Arian Foster                 Offensive                      7                      2011
Arian Foster                 Offensive                      4                      2011
Glover Quin                 Defensive                     12                     2010
Matt Schaub                Offensive                      6                      2010
Andre Johnson            Offensive                      2                      2010
Arian Foster                 Offensive                      1                      2010
Brian Cushing              Defensive                     8                      2009
Brian Cushing              Defensive                     6                      2009
Jacoby Jones              Special Teams              4                      2009
Matt Schaub                Offensive                      2                      2009
Matt Schaub                Offensive                      14                     2008
Steve Slaton                Offensive                      13                     2008
Jacoby Jones              Special Teams              8                      2008
Jacoby Jones              Special Teams              6                      2008
André Davis                Special Teams              14                     2007
Kris Brown                   Special Teams              5                      2007
Mario Williams             Defensive                     1                      2007
Kris Brown                   Special Teams              16                     2006
DeMeco Ryans            Defensive                     13                     2006
Andre Johnson            Offensive                      4                      2006
Jerome Mathis             Special Teams              8                      2005
Kris Brown                   Special Teams              3                      2004
Chad Stanley               Special Teams              9                      2003
Avion Black                 Special Teams              15                     2002
Aaron Glenn                Defensive                     14                     2002
Texans media web site: http://media.houstontexans.com
Texans PR on Twitter: @TexansPR 
Houston Texans on Twitter: @HoustonTexans
< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.