Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets Bookmark and Share
January 14, 2015


HOUSTON – Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced today that J.J. Watt of the Houston Texans has been selected as the 2014 Bert Bell Professional Player of the Year. Bruce Arians, the head coach of the Arizona Cardinals, was selected as the 2014 Greasy Neale Professional Coach of the Year.
Watt, a fourth-year pro out of Wisconsin, became the first player in NFL history to record two seasons with more than 20 sacks (20.5 in 2012 and again in 2014). He also joined Jason Taylor as the only player to record 10 sacks and 10 passes defensed in two different seasons since 1991.
In addition, Watt was the first defensive lineman since Chicago Bears DE Connie Mack Berry in 1944 to have at least five touchdowns in a season. Watt was also the first player since Chicago Bears DB J.C. Caroline in 1956 to score multiple touchdowns on offense and defense in the same season.
Watt had two or more sacks in all six division games in 2014 and his 14 sacks against division opponents were the most since the NFL moved to a six-game division schedule in 2002. The accolade is the latest in a growing list of honors for Watt, who was named the PFWA Defensive Player of the Year and to the Pro Bowl, Associated Press All-Pro First Team and PFWA All-NFL team for the third consecutive year.
Voters for the Maxwell Football Club's Professional Awards include NFL Owners, front office personnel, head and assistant coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club and selected national media. 
Watt and Arians will be honored Friday, March 13, 2015 at the 78th Maxwell Club National Awards Gala which will be held at the Tropicana Casino Resort in Atlantic City, N.J.
Also receiving awards at this event will be; Marcus Mariota - Oregon (Maxwell Award), Scooby Wright III - Arizona (Chuck Bednarik Award), Dan Mullen - Mississippi State University (The George Munger College Coach of the Year Award), Andy Talley - Villanova (The Philadelphia Insurance Tri-State Coach of the Year Award), Rasheed Bailey- Delaware Valley College (The Philadelphia Insurance Tri-State Player of the Year Award) Jim Kelly (The Thomas Brookshier Spirit Award), and Verne Lundquist and Gary Danielson (MFC Excellence in Broadcasting Award).
Tickets for the Maxwell Football Club National Awards Gala are available for purchase on the Club's website.
Award Organization
Defensive Player of the Year PFWA
First-Team All-Pro (Unanimous) AP
Bert Bell Pro Football Player of the Year MFC
Pro Bowl Starter NFL
AFC Defensive Player of the Month (December) NFL
AFC Defensive Player of the Month (September) NFL
Texans media web site: www.houstontexans.com/media 
Texans PR on Twitter: @TexansPR 
Houston Texans on Twitter: @HoustonTexans
< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.